Launch Recite Me web accessibility software
Nick Salmon, South East Water's Independent Chair

Chris Train

Independent Chair
Chris Train OBE was appointed as Independent Non-Executive Director and Chair on 1 April 2022. Chris has extensive experience in the utilities industry having been Chief Executive Officer of Cadent Gas Limited and Executive and Senior Adviser at CT Energy. Chris is an experienced Executive and Board Director and is currently Non-Executive Chair of Clean Power Hydrogen and a Non-Executive Director of The Nuclear Decommissioning Authority.

Image Missing Alt Tag

Chris Girling

Independent Non-Executive Director
Chris was appointed a non-executive director on 30 October 2014. Chris, an experienced finance professional, has a background in a variety of sectors, including construction, support services, pharmaceuticals and aerospace. Chris retired as group finance director of FTSE 250 Carillion plc in 2007 and since then he has chaired three audit committees and one pension fund.

John Barnes, South East Water's Independent Non-Executive Director

John Barnes

Independent Non-Executive Director

John was appointed a non-executive director on 28 January 2016. Prior to his more recent involvement with a start-up company developing renewable energy schemes, John had gained over 30 years’ experience in the water industry, mainly in the UK, but with spells in the Middle East and New Zealand. John is a former non-executive director of the Mid-Cheshire Hospitals Foundation Trust and was Executive Chair of All Change for Crewe, focused on making the most of inward investment to the town.

Célia Pronto, South East Water's Independent Non-Executive Director

Célia Pronto

Independent Non-Executive Director

Célia was appointed a non-executive director on 1 June 2018 and has a wealth of experience and expertise of the service sector in a range of industries. Célia is currently Managing Director at Love Home Swap, a subsidiary of RCI worldwide and an independent non-executive director of Moto Hospitality Ltd and Samworth Brothers. She was previously Group Marketing & E-Commerce Director and board member of the Ford Retail Group and Chief Customer and Digital Officer of Casual Dining Group Ltd.

Anne-Noëlle Le Gal, South East Water' Non-Executive Director - Shareholder Nominated

Anne-Noëlle Le Gal

Non-Executive Director - Shareholder Nominated

Anne-Noëlle is an Investment Director at Vantage Infrastructure focusing on the asset management and transaction execution of European equity infrastructure investments, and was appointed to the South East Water board in June 2021. She holds a Master 1 in Finance from Paris Dauphine University and a Masters in Accounting and Finance from the London School of Economics, and is a non-executive director at gas distribution company, Phoenix Natural Gas. Anne-Noëlle is also Deputy Chair of GRESB’s EMEA Infrastructure Benchmark Committee.

Mark McArdle, South East Water's Non-Executive Director - Shareholder Nominated

Mark McArdle

Non-Executive Director - Shareholder Nominated

Mark McArdle was appointed as Non-Executive Director at South East Water on 9 February 2022. Mark joined Morrison & Co as an Investment Director in Morrison & Co’s ANZ Investment Team, based in the Sydney office before relocating to London as part of the European investment team in November 2021. Prior to joining in 2020, Mark was an investment professional in QIC's Global Infrastructure business, focused on the utilities and renewable sectors, where he was responsible for origination, transaction execution and asset management. Prior to QIC, Mark worked in M&A and financing roles within the utilities and renewable sectors at RBC Capital Markets in both London and Sydney. Mark holds a Master of Chemistry from the University of Oxford.

David Hinton, South East Water's Chief Executive Officer

David Hinton

Chief Executive Officer

David has been CEO since 1 August 2020 and was previously Asset and Regulation Director from 1 June 2013. David has more than 25 years’ experience at South East Water and its predecessor companies acquired in various roles including Head of Regulation and Strategy and Head of Water Quality. With a strong science background, David has held previous senior roles in scientific consultancies as well as laboratory management for the Public Health Laboratory Services. David holds a BSc (Hons) in Biotechnology and a Master of Business Administration specialising in ethical consumerism.

Andrew Farmer, South East Water's Chief Financial Officer

Andrew Farmer

Chief Financial Officer

Andrew, who joined as Chief Financial Officer on 1 August 2015, has held a number of senior management posts in finance, most recently at MAG plc, the country’s largest UK owned airport operator, and Doosan Power Systems, a leading manufacturing, energy technologies and services company. Andrew holds a BSc (Hons) in Engineering and Business Studies from the University of Warwick and qualified as a Chartered Accountant with Price Waterhouse.